Painting the Roof Top

The Roof top is now fully sealed and protected against rust, Time to sand the epoxy primer with a 500 grit sandpaper to a fully smooth surface and getting ready to paint its final layer of glossy white.

I’ve been asked what type of white I use for my roof top. This is some sort of a difficult story, Toyota always documented the body colors, like my Beige T464. Typical for a 1979-1984 Land cruiser. But most of the trimming colors are hard to find. Colors like pewter (the silver of my glove box and instrument panel, and for non JDM cruisers also bumper and grill bezel) are not documented, and therefore hard to reproduce.For the roof there are several color options, like the classic Cygnus white, white 031 and white 033. The last one is the body color for later white cruisers, and from my experience the roof had the exact same color as the body. Therefore I decided to paint the roof in white 033. A nice Ivory white, that matches the beige 464 perfectly.

Painting the roof was kind of hard: because of the brightness of the white, its hard to see the glossy surface when looking from a straight angle and therefore hard to see if there’s enough paint on the surface. This unfortunately resulted in a few runners, but that will buff out in the end.

I gave the roof some time to cure before continuing with the headliner. This will be up next.

enjoy the glossss… 🙂

3 responses to “Painting the Roof Top

  • Stuart

    What brand of paint are you using? What epoxy and sanding primer? Excellent work.

    I have been watching the progress on this build for a while. This is such an interesting and informational article. Thank you so much for taking the time to photograph and describe all the work that you do. I would like to take on the challenge of a rebuild one day myself and this is such an inspiration for me to go for it.

    Thanks
    Stuart from Texas

    • folkertbj44

      Hi Stuart, I use Lesonal paint by Akzo Nobel, these are good priced professional automotive paint systems. I used it for both the first layer of epoxy paint and the second layer of Single stage paint. (that means no finish with clear coat, the color is the final coat.), although I have no experience with spray painting prior to this landcruiser, I must say it was really great stuff to work with.

    • folkertbj44

      ow and thank you letting me know I’m an inspiration for you, theres no bigger compliment than that!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

